Stupid Things Said to Sick People

Sometimes the most well intentioned ‘compliment’ comes out completely wrong, and some people are just plain ignorant – either way, some times the things said to sick people are shocking.

I was having a conversation the other day about this with a few other chronically sick people, and we were laughing about some quite hard – black humour is very popular amoungst the suffering. What can I say? If nothing else, misery loves company.

Here’s a few that I’ve heard said to me, and had recanted by others – there may be a bit of paraphrasing, but I’ll try to keep them as true to effect as possible. I assure you this is meant in jest as well – I don’t mean to sound mad about any of this – I share it for laughs only, as I assure you that’s all I do about it. At the time, something might be annoying, but I’m pretty quick to forgive, and either forget, or make a joke out of it. 😉 I highly invite anyone reading to add more.:

– Man … Cancer?! Well, it couldn’t have happened to a better person! (It was pretty obvious that they were trying to say something along the lines of how they admired how well I was handling the situation, and implying others might not handle it so well, but still – it was pretty darn funny.)

– Diabetes eh? Wow – my aunt had that. Went blind, and lost her leg! (Yup – some people just don’t think before they talk.)

– Celiac disease? Oh yeah … I did the gluten-free diet for a bit. (“?????? WHAT? BITE ME! You most CERTAINLY did NOT live this evil dietary restricted life you ignorant ______! This isn’t a choice – it’s a life-sentence!”)

– Curveature of the spine? Oh yeah – I have back pain sometimes too. (Sigh – stupid people everywhere obviously.)

– So, which scrotum is sore sir? (I swear to God, it was a nurse – I seriously thought I was on Candid Camera or something … how these people get degrees, I don’t know.)

– Oh my God! What’s that gross shit all over your arm? (“It’s f’ing psoriasis you bastard – I can’t really help it. I’m sorry that it hurt so bad today that I couldn’t bear to put sleeves over it …….” What I actually did was just walk away – one of the few times in life I was stunned silent.)

– Cancer? WOW. I can’t believe you’re so upbeat! I’d be alone in a dark corner crying! (Well THANK YOU VERY MUCH for the INSPIRATIONAL speech! I know the person was trying to compliment me, but still – that one grated on me a bit. When you hit the level where you’re just trying to not be sitting alone in a corner crying, let alone act upbeat and optimistic, the last thing you need is a reminder. Still – I think it took less than a few seconds to stop rolling my eyes at it, and see the humour. I think the person who said it was pretty embarassed, and was only delayed in apologizing because they were too busy pulling their foot out of their mouth. lol)

This entry was posted in Blog, Health, Reaction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stupid Things Said to Sick People

  1. Ken Savage says:

    I’ve got HepC – had it for 39 years. The one I always get is: “You don’t LOOK sick!” Trying seeing it from behind my eyes. I have to make them feel better by telling them that in the final stages I will be totally yellow and swollen, and then they’ll be able to tell.

    Don’t lie: I know I’m sick!

Leave a Reply

